CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEES 2022-23

Executive Summary

Set out below are the applications for the Membership of the Committees of the Council during the 2022/23 Municipal Year.

Committee	Nominations				
	Lib Dem	Conservative	Labour	Independent	Co-Optees
Appeals Committee (3)	Councillors Morley Oades	Councillor –	Councillor –	Councillor Akberali	_
Licensing Committee ¹ (10)	Councillors Caulfield Sanderson Morales Morley Spenser	Councillors Dorsett Elson Kemp	Councillor Ali	Councillor Jordan	_
Overview and Scrutiny Committee (10)	Councillors Caulfield Graves Kirby Morley Sanderson	Councillors Azad Davis Kemp	Councillor Raja	Councillor Akberali	_
Planning Committee (10)	Councillors Cosnahan Graves Morales Oades Spenser	Councillors Brown Dorsett Whitehand	Councillor Aziz	Councillor Boote	_
Standards and Audit Committee (7)	Councillors Caulfield Cosnahan Graves	Councillors Elson	Councillor Raja	Councillor Akberali	Mrs C Storey Independent Co-Opted Member
Woking Joint Committee (8)	Councillors Barker Caulfield Nicholson Morales	Councillors Brown Kemp	Councillor Ali	Councillor Jordan	_

¹Members of the Licensing Committee to be appointed to serve on one of the two Licensing Sub-Committees and the Taxi Licensing Sub-Committee in addition to acting as a substitute.

Notes:

The Council's Rules of Procedure states that:

- 1. Except where otherwise provided by Statute or a Scheme made under statutory authority, the Mayor shall be an ex-officio non-voting member of every committee appointed by the Council.
- 2. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor shall not be appointed to the Executive.
- 3. Members of the Executive may be appointed to serve on the Licensing Committee and the Planning Committee but not on the remaining Committees.

Recommendations

The Council is requested to:

RESOLVE That Membership of the Committees for 2022-23, as set out above, be agreed.

The Council has authority to determine the recommendations above.

Background Papers:

None.

Reporting Person:

Julie Fisher, Chief Executive Email: julie.fisher@woking.gov.uk, Extn: 3333

Contact Person:

Frank Jeffrey, Head of Democratic Services Email: frank.jeffrey@woking.gov.uk, Extn: 3012

Date Published:

23 May 2022

REPORT ENDS