APPOINTMENTS TO LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES

Executive Summary

At the meeting of Council on 23 May 2022, the Membership of the Sub-Committees of the Licensing Committee for the 2022/23 Municipal Year were agreed:

Working Group	Nominations			
	Lib. Dem.	Conservative	Labour	Independent
Licensing Sub- Committee A (Daytime) (3) (All remaining Members of Licensing Committee appointed as Substitutes)	Councillors Caulfield Graves	Councillor Dorsett	Councillor –	Councillor –
Licensing Sub- Committee B (Evening) (3) (All remaining Members of Licensing Committee appointed as Substitutes)	Councillors Morales Morley	Councillor Whitehand	Councillor –	Councillor –
Taxi Licensing Sub- Committee (Daytime) (6)	Councillors Caulfield Morley Spenser	Councillors Dorsett Elson	Councillor Ali	Councillor –

It is a legal requirement that Members of the Sub-Committees are also Full Members of the Licensing Committee and it has come to light that two of the members appointed to the Sub-Committees were not also appointed to the Licensing Committee: Licensing Sub-Committee A – Councillor Graves and Licensing Sub-Committee B – Councillor Whitehand.

Following consultation with Group Leaders, Councillor Morales has been put forward to replace Councillor Graves on Licensing Sub-Committee A, and Councillor Elson has been put forward to replace Councillor Whitehand on Licensing Sub-Committee B.

The Licensing Committee is requested to approve the changes to the membership for the remainder of the Municipal Year. There are no changes required to the Taxi Licensing Sub-Committee.

Appointments to Licensing Sub-Committees

Recommendations

The Committee is requested to:

RESOLVE That

- (i) Councillor Morales be appointed to Licensing Sub-Committee A in place of Councillor Graves for 2022/23; and
- (ii) Councillor Elson be appointed to Licensing Sub-Committee B in place of Councillor Whitehand for 2022/23.

The Committee has the authority to determine the recommendation(s) set out above.

Background Papers: None.

Reporting Person: Gareth John, Head of Legal Services

Email: Gareth.john@woking.gov.uk, Extn: 3077

Contact Person: Douglas Davern, Democratic Services Officer

Email: doug.davern@woking.gov.uk, Extn: 3018

Date Published: 26 September 2022